Talk About It

About 9 years ago: Mahbuba Nahid K.

Congratulations to the new fellows of our chapter. A well deserved and well earned honor.

Seven AIA Dallas Members Elected to College of Fellows

We are pleased to announce that the American Institute of Architects has elevated seven AIA Dallas members to Fellow in the 2014 year.

The AIA Fellowship program was developed to elevate those architects who have made a significant contribution to architecture and society and who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession. Congratulations to all the recipients of this prestigious honor. Only about 3,000 of AIA's total 80,000 members hold this distinction. Our 2014 honorees are:

Russell N. Buchanan, FAIA

Buchanan is principal at Buchanan Architecture in Dallas. He is also an adjunct professor of architecture at The University of Texas at Arlington and co-founded the Dallas Architecture Forum. Outside of his architectural practice, Buchanan has designed a large collection of furniture pieces; one is on permanent display of the Dallas Museum of Art.

Myriam E. Camargo, FAIA

Camargo is the founding partner of CamargoCopeland Architects. Her designs for the Dallas Children’s Advocacy Center and numerous projects within the Dallas County Community College District have aided in the transformation of these entities. Camargo conceptualized and initiated The Dallas Trinity River Symposium, which laid the cornerstone for the development of a comprehensive Balanced Vision Plan for the Dallas Trinity River Project. 

Pablo Laguarda, FAIA

Laguarda is a founding partner of Laguarda.Low Architects. In his professional practice, Laguarda has worked to implement innovative design as “a universal language to create rich structures centered on the human experience to transform communities around the world.” Laguarda served as partner and lead designer at RTKL and later as senior vice president and design director at HOK Dallas.For the past thirteen years, he has grown his own firm to include more than seventy people in Dallas, New York, Beijing, and Tokyo.

Richard M. Miller, FAIA

Miller is the Higher Education Market Sector leader in the Dallas office of Perkins+Will. His career has been dedicated to the planning and design of innovative and sustainable educational environments. An innovator who programmed, designed, and delivered the first two LEED Platinum education buildings in the state of Texas, Miller regularly presents on topics addressing creative planning solutions for the critical issues being faced by educators.

Gary Gene Olp, FAIA

Olp is principal of GGO Architects in Dallas. As the architect for the first truly green homes in North Texas preceding the USGBC LEED, Olp is recognized as one of the original voices in the region for sustainable architecture. For more than 30 years, his innovative architectural practice, educational outreach and persistent advocacy have paved the way for sustainable practices in government, corporations, and institutions. He regularly speaks on the topics of sustainable design and environmental stewardship. 

Bryan K. Trubey, FAIA

Trubey leads the Sports & Entertainment practice of the global design firm HKS. Since founding this group almost two decades ago, his extraordinary work has redefined the practice of sports and entertainment architecture by bringing an innovative approach integrating art, business, technology, branding, context, and civic identity to the creation of destination environments.

Allan W. Zreet, FAIA

Zreet serves as Jacobs’ principal for Transit Design, a national practice area that provides integrated transit planning, transit-oriented development, and transit facilities design. Zreet is an innovator in this field through his visionary approach to integrating transit with land use while also advocating design excellence. He has developed transit master plans in Xiamen, China, Salt Lake City, Dallas and San Francisco, and has designed stations in numerous cities across the U.S.

The 2014 Fellows will be honored at an investiture ceremony at the 2014 National AIA Convention in Chicago.

Congraulations, Fellows! We also want to thank our 2013 Fellows Committee and all who were sponsors and mentors.