Licensure | ARE

Become a Sponsor

Helpful Links

Where we stand: Professional Licensure

The essential purpose of licensing architects is to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public and shield consumers from unqualified practitioners. As such, AIA strongly opposes efforts to reduce or remove requirements for the professional licensing of architects. Read more...


Visit Texas Board of Architectural Examiners for most updated requirements for licensure in the state of Texas.


Helpful NCARB links:

NCARB's guide to preparing for ARE 5.0 here
Download the NCARB ARE 5.0 Handbook here
Join the NCARB ARE 5.0 Community here

The Four Basic Requirements to Become an Architect
• Education—an accredited degree in architecture
• Experience—completion of the Architectural Experience Program® (AXP®). Formerly, the Intern Development Program (IDP)
• Examination—pass the 6 divisions of the Architect Registration Exam (ARE)
• Licensure—contact your state registration board to complete the licensure process

Questions regarding NCARB requirements? Reach out to one of the local NCARB Licensing Advisors:

Lauren Downie, AIA

Jignesh Patel, AIA