Ever wonder what the Texas Society of Architects is doing for you?  You could visit their website…or you could come to the September Chapter Meeting to hear from the 2020 Texas Society of Architects President Connie Rivera, AIA, the Executive Vice President James Perry, the Government Relations Director Becky Walker, and the Leader of TxA’s Community Design Action Team Michael Zaretsky, AIA.  Michael will also share about his activities in Africa this summer.


Connie G. Rivera, AIA, 2019 TxA President-Elect

Connie Rivera grew up in South Texas and studied at The University of Texas at Austin, where she focused on historic preservation as part of her architectural education. After receiving her bachelor’s in 1994, she returned to Corpus Christi, where she worked for Bright + Dykema Architects and, later, McGloin + Sween. She also became highly involved in the local architecture community, serving as the associate director for AIA Corpus Christi (AIA CC) in 2000, and on various urban planning advisory committees for the city.

In 2006, Rivera left work to start a family, but she returned to the field in 2008, when she was invited to become executive director for AIA CC. She obtained her architecture license just six months into that role, making her an especially knowledgeable and effective advocate for members. Her talent, drive, and vision are credited for the success of AIACC’s transition from a volunteer-led chapter to a staffed one, and for strengthening the organization as a resource for members and the community.

From 2009 to 2011, Rivera served on the AIA National Task Force for Component Excellence, where she developed standards for components around the country with the intent to share best practices. At the state level, she has served on the TxA Board of Directors as vice president of advocacy, vice president of professional development, and chapter director. She is also recognized for her leadership in TxA’s Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Taskforce. In addition, Rivera has served as a TAC Executive Trustee, TAC Advisory Trustee, and member of the Finance Committee. She is spending her year as president-elect traveling to the various AIA components across the state in preparation for her presidency in 2020.

Rivera is currently a project architect at WKMC Architects in Corpus Christi, where she applies her talents on behalf of clients as their representative on large-scale projects. She also volunteers with various local organizations, including the Equine Sharing Program and Hispanic Women's Network of Texas.

James Perry, Executive Vice President, TxA


Becky Walker, Government Relations Director, TxA

Becky Walker is the Government Relations Director for the Texas Society of Architects. Before joining TxA in 2018, she served as legislative and communications director in the Texas Senate. Becky has 15 years’ experience in state government and Texas politics and is a graduate of Texas Lutheran University.

Michael Zaretsky, AIA, Community Design Action Team, TxA, and Director of Architectural Engineering, University of Texas at Arlington

Michael Zaretsky, AIA is an Associate Professor in the Department of Civil Engineering in the College of Engineering with a courtesy appointment in the School of Architecture in the College of Architecture, Planning and Public Affairs (CAPPA) at the University of Texas at Arlington. He is the Director of the Architectural Engineering program in Civil Engineering. Zaretsky has extensive experience in local and international design/build projects with a focus on interactive community engagement. He is the author of Precedents in Zero-Energy Design, co-author of New Directions in Sustainable Design with Dr. Adrian Parr and has a forthcoming book entitled Design Beyond Borders with Routledge.


How Do I Get to the AD EX?

For your convenience, please use our parking & commuting guide when planning your visit to AIA Dallas. For this event, we will NOT be validating parking. If you have any questions about alternative parking options, please feel free to call our reception desk at 214.742.3242


Parking Information: [PDF 220.57 KB]